Shell FCU | About Us

Protect Your Account!

DO NOT share personal information with unsolicited callers or texters claiming to be with Shell FCU. We will NEVER ask for your Digital Banking User ID or Password. If YOU initiate contact with us we may send you a one-time authentication code. If uncertain, hang up and call Shell FCU at (713) 844-1100. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you!

About Us

Shell FCU is a member owned and operated cooperative serving Harris County. We offer a wide range of services at no-cost or at lower costs than traditional financial institutions, including more favorable rates on dividends and loans.

Anyone who lives, works, worships, attends school, or regularly conducts business in Harris County can bank with Shell FCU. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you!

Mission Statement

The purpose of Shell Federal Credit Union, chartered in 1937, is not profit, not charity, but service to members through leadership that is committed to keeping the credit union strong, aggressive and financially sound.


Establishing a loyal and steadfast commitment to their communities, Shell FCU has improved the lives of thousands through service excellence, community outreach and lasting financial solutions for all stages in life. Programs at Shell FCU deliver products and services, comprehensive financial education and an avenue for volunteerism.

Shell FCU's field of membership includes anyone who lives, works, worships, attends school, or regularly conducts business in Harris County, Texas. With only a $5 savings account deposit, anyone in Shell FCU’s field of membership can experience banking but better. The credit union remains financially strong, proud of our footpath and excited about the future.

Federal law requires all financial institutions to obtain, verify and record information that identifies each person who opens an account. When you open an account, Shell FCU will ask for proof of identification. Two Primary IDs (issued by different agencies) or one Primary and one Secondary ID are required.

  • Primary ID: Valid State-Issued Driver’s License, Valid State Identification Card, Valid Military ID Card, Valid US Passport, US Alien Registration Card or Texas Handgun License
  • Secondary ID: Mexican Matricula Card, Social Security Card, Voter Registration, Valid Student ID, Utility Bill, Major Credit Card or Debit Card with Name Imprinted, Insurance Card such as Auto, Health or Medicare/Medicaid, Property Tax Bill, or TWIC Card
  • IDs That Do Not Meet Requirements: Food Stamps Card, Expired Driver’s License, Marriage License, Birth Certificate, Check Cashing Card or Library Card

All minors under 16 years old must have a parent/guardian as a joint owner. Parent/guardian must be eligible for membership to be added as a Joint Owner on a minor's account. Minors 13 to 15 years old must provide a current school ID or valid state issued ID and a Social Security Card. Minors newborn to 12 years old must provide a birth certificate or a Social Security Card.

Have questions about Shell FCU’s field of membership? Request to be contacted.


The ground work for chartering Shell Federal Credit Union occurred January 25, 1937 at 8PM in the Shell Oil Refinery Clock House. The organizational meeting was attended by 40 employees of Shell Oil Company.

In attendance were G.V. Carroll of Texas Company Refinery, H.S. Bragg from the downtown office and Shell Oil Refinery Manager, Mr. Mullemeister. Mr. Carroll and Mr. Bragg shared their experience of the Credit Union with the group in attendance.

A fee of $0.25 was set for each person present who wished to become a member. All forty employees present at that first meeting joined the organization. The first official meeting of the Shell Employees Credit Union, Charter No. 1941, was held on February 4, 1937.

Executive Team

Jose Rodriguez


Kristi Garner

Chief Financial Officer

Joe Herrera

Chief Information Officer

Nicole Hernandez

Chief Administration Officer

Nancy Johnson

Chief Operations Officer

Natalie May

Chief Human Resources Officer

Board of Directors

Chester Servance


Donald Booth


Ben Esquivel


Salma Hartley

Assistant Treasurer

Kurt Hoefer


Mark Sapp

Assistant Secretary

Mike Kolb


Royce Parker


Darrick Duke


William White

Director Emeritus

Supervisory Committee

Pam Mills


Carla Nettles

Angela Pettaway

Barbara Stephens

Laura Geil-Estrada

   The Supervisory Committee is appointed by the Board to:
  • Act as the "watchdog" of the Credit Union to protect and safeguard member assets
  • Ensure that records are maintained properly, honestly and accurately
  • Make sure that policies are established according to law and carried out faithfully
Contact Us

Political Action

YOU are the Voice of YOUR Credit Union

Learn more about the restructuring of financial services. These changes could impact credit unions. Speak out on behalf of Your Credit Union and others who are dedicated to helping members succeed financially. Read more...


*Current newsletter